Sava Basin

The Sava rises in the mountains of western Slovenia, and passes through the lowlands of Croatia before forming the border between Croatia and Bosnia and Herzegovina. Continuing through Serbia, it reaches its confluence with the Danube in Belgrade (with an average flow of 1,564 m³/sec). Its main sub-tributaries are the Krka, Kupa, Una, Vrbas, Bosna, Drina and Kolubara. The Sava basin has a size of 95,419 km², which makes it the second largest after the Tisza basin.

International Sava Agreement

The joint management of the Sava River Basin by Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia and Montenegro will be a crucial test case for the implementation of the EU Water Framework Directive for the Danube and Europe.

The Framework Agreement on the Sava River Basin and the Protocol on the Navigation Regime, both signed in 2002, promote regional co-operation throughout the Sava River Basin on issues related to navigation, economic development, comprehensive water management and environmental protection.

The Sava Commission has been established in June 2005 and has open its Secretariat in Zagreb (Croatia).

The aims of the Sava Commission are to fully implement the Agreement and is working to facilitate opportunities for economic development and to attract foreign investors and contribute to enhancement of relations and co-operation between the Parties to the agreement.

For further information, please contact the Sava Commission Secretariat.



  • » Bosnia-Herzegovina
    The waters of Bosnia and Herzegovina are split between the Danube River Basin District and the Adriatic Sea Basin. Some 40.2% of the Sava river sub-basin, the second largest sub-basin of the Danube river basin, lies in Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the rest of the watershed is shared by Croatia, Serbia and Slovenia.
  • » Serbia
    Serbia covers an area of 88,361 km² and includes two provinces: Vojvodina and Kosovo - Metohija; 92% of the country lies within the Danube Basin (accounting for 10% of the Basin). Of this land, 30% is forested. Serbia is dependent on sources outside its national territory for its water resources. The country has been a full member of the ICPDR since August 2003 (originally ratifying the Danube River Protection Convention on 30 Jan 2003).
  • » Croatia
    With a national territory of 87,609 km2, Croatia is at the meeting point of the Pannonian Plain, the Balkans and the Adriatic. The country straddles the border of two major catchment areas: the Danube Basin and the Adriatic Sea. Draining over 62% of Croatia’s mainland, the Danube Basin covers the northern and central inland section of the country and is home to 69% of the population. Croatian territory accounts for 4.4% of the entire Danube Basin.


Share this page